A Quilt for Maxwell

My brother and sister in law had their very first baby January 20th! I’m completely smitten, he is such a sweet little thing. I don’t know if you’ve ever had to come up with a quilt for someone very close to you or very special, but I felt a TON OF PRESSURE to get it right. Will it be the right colors? The right pattern? Modern vs. traditional? Juvenile or mature? There were a lot decisions that I had to make and I decided that he needed something he could grow into; physically and emotionally. I went with the ‘Heading Home’ quilt pattern from the book Striking Strip Quilts. (I recommend getting this book, I’ve made 3 quilts from it and plan to make more.)

My favorite thing about this was that I didn’t have to spend any (new) money on materials for the quilt top! I happened to have a ton of kona laying around and had hoarded a jelly roll of the original produced Architextures by Carolyn Friedman.

Piecing this quilt didn’t take nearly as long as I expected it too, cutting included! Also, this is my first quilt where the blocks are on point so that was new for me. I’ll try to get some close up photos of the quilting. Each block took about an hour to quilt, overall quilting took about 9-10 hours. I put so much love into this quilt and I can’t wait for Max to use it all the time. ❤

headinghomeheadinghome1headinghome2

Leave a Reply

