Where the Wild Things Are Quilt

A dear friend from college was having her third baby, but her first boy! I had made her two girls each a quilt when they were born so of course I’d make this little guy one! I asked her what theme / color scheme she was looking for and she said “Where the Wild Things Are, and Grey and Blue”.

Almost immediately the idea came to me to do raw edge applique of the characters in silhouette on a simple background. I liked the idea of having them not in their ‘natural habitat’ so little Holden could imagine them wherever he liked.

I used Carolyn Friedlander’s collection in low volume strips. I sewed full length different sized strips together and cut them into wonky squares. It was very fast and easy. I want to do that again for a different quilt!

Then, I made the silhouettes and bonded them using EZ Steam II (not the LITE – cause that’s the worst.) Once they were fused, I quilted some texture to them in addition to quilting the rest of the background. I’m really happy with how this came out! I could use some work on quilting without getting tucks in there but hey, it can’t all be perfect!

 

closeupfullpanoback

2 thoughts on “Where the Wild Things Are Quilt

    1. hi! Glad you like it! I printed an image from the internet and enlarged it so the characters were the size i needed. I then traced the character shapes on EZ Steam II (in reverse) and did raw edge applique. Hope that helps! There is more info in the post. Just be aware you can not sell it legally as it is copyright. But for personal use I’m sure its fine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

