DIY Small Ironing Board Cover

I live in a tiny studio guest house, like REALLY tiny. Like under 250 square feet tiny. I have to have smaller things, like this miniature IKEA ironing board. I use it ALL THE TIME. You can tell because it has holes and gross burn stains on it. I had been wanting to make a cover for it for a year or more and finally just decided to do it. IT’S SO EASY I don’t know why I didn’t do it sooner.

Step 1: SUPPLIES

*a yard or more of fabric to use for the cover. I didnt have enough to do it straight grain, so I did it bias and it fit in 1 yard *I’m pretty sure…

*enough batting (1 or more layers) OR Insulbrite – which is what I used to cover just the top part of your ironing board.

*elastic or cord for keeping the cover on.

Step 2: Place ironing board upside down on your fabric. Trace 2″-3″ larger than the board. then cut around your shape, set aside.

Step 3: Place ironing board upside down on your layered batting or insulbrite. trace around the actual shape without the 2″-3″ buffer.

Step 4: Fold the outer edge under twice, create a channel large enough for your elastic or cording to go through. Sew, but leave an opening about 4 inches wide.

Step 5: using a safety pin feed your cording or elastic through the channel and tie off or sew elastic.

Step 6: place your batting or insulbrite on the top of the ironing board. Apply your new cover on top of that!

That’s it!!!

ironing.jpg

Leave a Reply

