Outlander Hallowen

COLR6907

In the summer of 2013 I began reading Outlander at the behest of my Kindle / Amazon recommendation. I can honestly say I had never heard of it. I had never heard of the perfect Jamie Fraser, the clever Claire Fraser, the Jacobite Rebellion or Culloden. I became wrapped up in a world full of history and strange magic and most importantly, love. Not just romantic love, but love for others as people – as a community, as a family and as a country. On the Kindle I was able to highlight places, words and historical people to learn more as I went along. When I heard the show was coming for it, I was over the moon – I was also worried the characters and places I had created in my mind wouldn’t match. I have to say I’m very impressed by the show. The actors, historical efforts at accuracy and the costumes are really wonderful. Thus – My halloween costume as Claire Fraser.

  IMG_8560

I have only made a few dresses from patterns, but they are all fairly simple. Nothing too crazy. I decided I would at least give it a go. I used two Simplicity Patterns.

Sleeves came from Simplicity 4092

Vest and skirt came from Simplicity 3809

We have a great fabric shop in Buena Park called M&L Fabrics. They  have loads of flat folds that are much cheaper than off the bolt even though they are good quality. I don’t understand it but I also won’t question it! I was able to pick up 5 yards of this brown plaid for $2.98 a yard. I got 5 yards and needed about 4.5 yards of it. I picked up the brown for the jacket and the paisley type fabric for the ‘bodice board’ (I couldn’t find what it was actually called) at Joann’s for a total of $15.

IMG_8367

I made the vest as the pattern calls for with slight adjustments to the shoulder but I should have left them as is I think. I made the pattern for the sleeves in the same way, and only added a small lace trim. I finished the edges on the top shoulder part where it would normally connect to the shoulders of the bodice. I added 8 grommets on each shoulder of the vest and on each sleeve top. I used hemp twine to connect them. I have to say, it was pretty comfortable and allowed my ‘oxters’ (as Jamie calls arm pits) to breathe. I also put grommets down the front of the vest. If you haven’t done grommets before, I can’t tell you how easy it is! I only had a few bad tries, but the rest went on well! I wore a thrift store bought shirt that I cut the collar off of ($3.50). I also used a lovely hand knit cowl that a gal made for me in one of the craft swaps I did on Instagram. (and I wore a corset under for ‘accuracy’ and keeping in the lumps ha, but I don’t recommend that for an 8 hour day.)

IMG_8396

The only additional add-on I used was a Kristoff standee from Frozen that we have at work, that we taped a Jamie face too. I carried him around with me on the Disney Studio Lot for the Halloween party and it was so fun! Lots of ladies shouted at me ‘OUTLANDER!’ I think they were exctied someone else loved it too! Many of them came up to me and asked to take photos for themselves, their moms, their friends and their grandmas. Totally made my day.

Thanks so much for reading! I’d love to hear if you had an outlander inspired costume!

IMG_8423IMG_8425

Leave a Reply

