Outlander Craft Swap

To say I love Outlander by Diana Gabaldon is an understatement. I love the series so much, I get enveloped in it. They are written with such rich imagery, feeling and wit. If you haven’t read them – do it right now!

Anyway, I joined an Outlander Craft Swap on instagram ( #outlandercraftswap ). I’m so enjoying trying to come up with suitable gifts for my secret partner. I decided to do a cross stitch phrase, and I have made what will either be a mini quilt or a pillow cover. I can’t decide what would be better!

I am having trouble picking which of these to send to my partner – What are your thoughts?Screen Shot 2015-03-24 at 10.55.28 AM (3)Screen Shot 2015-03-24 at 10.55.35 AM (3)

((Gotta fix that little bit that’s off on the left side of the flower))

I have been wanting to try bias tape applique for some time so I thought this would be the perfect excuse to try it out. I decided to do a triquetra – a Celtic Knot. Originally pagan, also adopted by Christians, it is a universal symbol of ancient Scotland and Ireland. I got some of Aleen’s no-sew fabric glue and used it to tack down the design once I had it laid out. I then sewed along the edges of the bias tape which was so fast and easy because it wasn’t moving around! I’m still working on it a bit but here’s what I have so far! I sure hope she likes it!

triquetra2 triquetra1 triquetra3

also: Jamie Fraser.

scotch

Leave a Reply

