Cargo Duffle Laptop Bag Hack!

I was desperate for a cuter laptop bag than the previous workplace issued black flap bag I had been using. I love the cargo duffle pattern and thought, man I could make that work !

Here’s what I know about this hack. This works for me, it may not work for you. I think next time, I might try the side handles, but make them long enough to go over the shoulder rather than the  side strap which is kind of wobbly, but strong. If that makes sense. I should have made the gusset a tad longer. Here are the amended measurements that work for my 15″ Macbook Pro.

Supplies

  • 1/2 yard or 2 FQ for exterior sides
  • 1/2 yard or 2 FQ for interior sides
  • 1/4 yard for gussets
  • 1/2 yard Batting for each side + similar piece for  gussets
  • 22″ Zipper

Measure your computer and add a 1.5″ to 2″ to each side for the size of the side piece. Cut two of that size; for me it was 11.5″ x 16″ For the bottom gusset, I cut one piece 2.5″ x 28.5″; top gusset pieces (two) 1 1/4″ x  25.5″

The side strap is the same as how you make it in the pattern but don’t cut it into 2 pieces unless you want handle straps. Otherwise, attach the end of each side strap into the seam where the gussets meet on each end.

That’s it! It may take some fixing depending on how roomy you want the bag and how big your computer is.

Let me know if you try it!

closeup

sidea sideb

2 thoughts on “Cargo Duffle Laptop Bag Hack!

Leave a Reply

